Wobble bass lfo automation tempo sync question.

musicguy7

This may be somewhat specific to dubstep wobble bass, but I have a rob papen subboombass bass patch loaded into logic, and am automating the filter lfo speed by drawing some patterns. The lfo sync box is checked in subboombass, my questions is by drawing automation for the filter lfo speed in logic, will the lfo sync always be maintained regardless of the automation I draw? Does that make sense?

For example if I draw a gradual increasing automation line from a lfo speed of 1/8 to 1/16 for some midi notes, during the playback, will the wobble bass always be in sync to my project tempo during movement along this automation slope?

Yes, it will always be in sync with your tempo, if you are looking for a gradual automation slope though you're better off using the tempo matching frequency rather than 1/8th or 16th as drawing an automation slope from 1/8 to 1/16 will generally just go 1/8 1/8T 1/16D 1/16. Rather than sloping up.

I think that's what you're asking?

What do you mean by tempo matching frequency? You mean don't use slopes and just vertical 90 degree lines up and down between different rates? I'm working on a track right now and using the wobble bass for the first time! I am trying to change up the LFO wobble rate by drawing automation, and don't want to mess it up! ie. making it sound interesting by changing the rate but always in sync with the beat. Thanks.

I get you, I thought you were trying to slope the LFO rate up, if you just want to cycle between values like 1/8 and 1/16 notes it will always tempo sync. for best results turn on "snap automation" and set your snap value to beats or bars (or whatever you are snapping to)

Sorry, didn't u say slopes between different rates will always synch as well?? as long as the lfo sync is activated? i interpretated ur suggestion as it won't sound that natural if i use slopes goin thru a bunch of rates to a more 'favorable' rate?