My fist ever complete song!

JetLab

Still have work to do on this song but It's the first song I've ever completely written. I'm a real newbie at music but none the less I'd like to hear your honest assessment as to it's content. Vocals are on the way. Keys were a last minute addition that I'm not so sure I'll keep.

Thanks all

Cheers,

Ken

Well played and well recorded. Great job for a first venture!

My one constructive critique would be the drums - they sound very stiff, and dynamically controlled - the kick has the same impact every time its played, the snare the same> Sounds like a drum machine. And it may be a stylistic choice to not have hi-hats or ride (or any cymbals for that matter) in the track, but if you added them to say, the second verse, it would give the track a sense of gaining momentum. I have to admit, i'm not sure if there were hats in the middle, but if there were, they are way down in the mix.

And that middle was quite a nice twist! Overall, i love the sound and layering of the guitars, and thought all of the tones worked very well together.

Keep 'em coming!

Hey Chimpotle,

I really like your input regarding the drums. I agree with the stiffness and drum machine sound. I've only been playing guitar for about 2 years so writing the drums was a total struggle. I took some grooves from Kit Core and did some midi editing on the fly and that's what I came up with. I agree that adding cymbals in the middle will give the song momentum. Thanks a lot for mentioning that as I wasn't seeing it myself.

I do appreciate your kind remarks as well. Being new to this has been daunting. Your constructive criticism and kind words give me the opportunity to grow and gain confidence at the same time.

I will post the edited drums when I get them up. Also working on the melody for the vocals.

Hey Ken, I'll continue the conversation here...