Logic Midi Uno and a Roland TD4

logic_noob

As you can see by my name I'm really new to logic and midi as well. I have a Roland TD4 drum kit that I'm trying to hook up to logic and use the built in drum sounds within logic. I'm able to create a new track, get it to recognize the midi channel that I have assigned both logic and the TD4 drum brain. (midi channel 10) When I record I see the midi events that are being created but thus no sound (audio) on both recoding and playback. Help.

Thank you

logicnoob

Hey, I have the same problem and that reply doesn't help me. I'm using a Roland TD-4K2 V-drum, connected via a MIDI cable to the MIDI IN slot on my Saffire Pro 40, connected to the Macbook Pro via a firewire 400 cable using Logig 9.1.6. It recognizes the input notes, but no playback/input monitoring. Latest version of Lion OS, headphones into the phones jack of the Saffire pro.

I've set the synchronization as follows; Transmit MIDI Clock - Destination 1 - Pro40 MIDI

MTC (tick) Pro40 MIDI

MMC: Transmit MMC (tick)

Listen to MMC input (tick)

What do I need to do to hear sound through the Saffire and/or Logic? Nothing is registering in the Saffire Pro mixer whereas of course it does with audio input, is tha normal/particular to MIDI devices?

Many thanks in advance...

Hey, ok I've done that and I got sound, but how do I play the sounds of the drumkit (external MIDI instrument in question) without using a software instrument/Logic library file via Logic and record, as in just use the drumkit and its native sounds and have Logic recognize them and record them/play them back? I appreciate the reply and help very much!

To be able to record/edit the MIDI performance in Logic, you'll have to first create an External MIDI track. Then with that track selected, choose the Saffire's MIDI Out port in the Library. Make sure you have a MIDI cable connected from the MIDI Out of the Saffire to the MIDI In on your V-drum sound module.