Best way to learn keys

Oxygen

Clearly the answer to this question is practice, but I'm trying to get a little more specific so I can work hard as well as smart. I'm not worried as much with being able to sit down and play a piece of already composed music from a sheet. As a producer, I create my music mostly just from jamming and improvising. I guess my main concern is being able to go up and down the scales with ease and be able to freestyle better chord progressions in the moment. I feel like just sitting in front of the keyboard replaying other music from a piece of paper is not necessarily the best way to learn what I want to do. I have a basic knowledge of music theory (major, minor scales. basic chords). I really want to be able to take it to the next level. Any advice on how or what I should be practicing. Any good programs or books out there that might help me accomplish what I want to do? Also, if you think I'm completely wrong about my approach and should be sitting here learning sheet music, let me know! I'm just trying to open myself up to new and better ways of learning, any help or advice is appreciated, thanks!

A teacher will take you to the next level.

For practice, how about once you learn a new chord, scale, mode or whatever, you create a backing track to rehearse jamming your new chops to? Also, jam along to records, figure out what the artists are doing musically.

One thing that learning from sheet music will do is to greatly improve your music reading abilities. But, if sight reading and writing sheet music for people isn't something you're likely to do, then I don't think you should feel bad about not doing it. If you're not enthusiastic about it, you probably won't do it well.

Having done something in one key,try to do it on the fly in a different one,preferably a distant one.

Get the hang of the numerical relationships rather than the note/chord names. Or rather,as well as.

Both melodically and harmonically.