Some note combinations result in no sound on the *2nd* note.

umi

Hello,

I am very new to Logic, so I wouldn't be surprised if I am overlooking something simple, but I have searched Google about 200 different ways, and have yet to come across another instance of this problem...

I am using Logic Pro 9.1.7 on a Mac that seems to be running it just fine, except for this ONE thing...certain, specific key combinations result in the 2nd note (doesn't matter which order) registering with a velocity of 1 (practically no sound).

Specifically:

E2 and C3

F2 and C#3

F#2 and D3

G2 and D#3

G#2 and E3

A2 and F3

A#2 and F#3

B2 and G3

My keyboard (M-Audio Keystudio 49) seems fine, I have absolutely no problem with the keys registering by themselves or with *any* other combination. Polyphony is enabled and working great. But with the specific combinations above, the 2nd note that is played (no matter which order) seems to register only with a velocity of 1, and this ONLY happens if I am already *holding the 1st note* while hitting the 2nd one.

For example:

I hit E2, lift my finger and hit C3: no problem

I hit E2 and C3 *simultaneously*: no problem

I hit E2, and *while holding E2*, hit C3: I keep hearing E2 but nothing for C3.

Another weird thing: C3 (or whatever the 2nd note from the above pairs is) acts as a sustain pedal for E2...i.e. I could let go of E2 and the note will hold until I let go of C3.

This goes the other way round too (hit E2 while holding C3), and with all the combinations listed above. It's always the 2nd note that does not properly register. It's always a velocity of 1 on the 2nd note, and it always acts like a sustain pedal.

I hope I explained the problem well enough.

PLEASE HELP! This is driving me NUTS!

All these pairs are augmented fifths. That probably has something to do with it.

Is this behaviour the same in any Software Instrument? With what instrument have you tested this? Have you tested this on other Logic projects?