Parallel Processing in Mastering?

Hey guys,

I just did a master for a student of mine, as I am no mastering engineer, I just wanted to make sure if what I did was kosher in the world of mastering!

The track was lacking serious punch and was also a bit stereo skewed, favoring the left channel a bit much (not great production and mixing i might add, but anyhow.)

So what i did was add an Aux track with SPL transient designer with attack way increased and some slight overdrive and EQ and the I sent the main track to that bus

I also panned the parallel bus a bit to the other side to even out the L and R channels...

was that a good tactic or could i have gone about it in a better way?

So is parallel processing often used in mastering?

Would what i did above perhaps have added some negative artifacts to the sound that I'm not picking up?

just wondering!

have a good evening! :D

I'm no mastering engineer AT ALL lol but there only seems to be a couple of ME's on here so I will try and help you.

So you have panned a whole buss with all the mid info aswell, a bit to the left? the first thing I would do is check in mono but check just the sides too because you probably got a large portion of the mono elements in the left after doing that.

I doubt it is skewed because the kick drum, bass, snare etc are skewed as we know thats fairly basic. I bet its because he/she has too many elements panned to the left. Maybe it is a mix thing that can't be fixed the way you are trying. Even then if the stuff that should normally be centred or you want them centred are not then I guess its still a mix issue.

On top of that you have panned the parallel bus which has the compression which means the left is going to have more "New York" than the right.