Mastering video..... ?

OK - I'm not a mastering engineer and don't reeeeally know I'm on about with this field (at all.... ) I 'master' tracks for playing out at clubs or whatever but that's about as far as i go with it...

Just watched this though -

Kind of struck me as a pretty rubbish video, ? But then i thought maybe it's just me that's rubbish, so I'd be interested in hearing some view's on it!

he starts 'doing stuff' around 8 minutes...

here -

#t=484s" rel="external nofollow">http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=
#t=484s

I've seen worse.

I'm no ME, but the one thing that struck me was that he didn't have a multimeter as the last insert, so he's not actually metering what he's doing with the EQ, Multipressor and AdLimiter. From his description, he doesn't appear to understand what the correlation meter actually does either.

It's impossible to tell with the way he's just recorded the audio with a mic, but I'd imagine he's got some nasty distortion with the amount of gain he's adding with the AdlImiter.

There is some good advice in there too though.

Like I said, I've seen worse.

Edited by Rev. Juda$ Sleaze

nice one rev... yeh - i raised an eyebrow at the multimeter placing ( i'd have thought he'd maybe use two, one on the start one at the end if he really wanted to know the signal start levels...)

i don't use the Multipressor much at all so i can't really talk on what he said there....

Like you said - the recording quality of the vid is (ironically... ) s#!+, so its hard to say, but it looked as though he beat the s#!+ out of it with the adaptive.... wasn't sure if you should use a linear phase Eq at the mastering stage...

but yeh, not really my field, just wondered what general consensus was.