"Drive/partition Macintosh HD is full" error

the_altitude

Howdy,

My name is Dantes and I am pretty new to the Logic world (but lovin' it!) and I am having a bit of a problem. Here's what's going on:

I will be recording a project when suddenly I get an error message saying "Drive/partition Macintosh HD is full." Sometimes this will make my 2012 MacBook Pro (which has 500 GB of memory) stop recording mid-take (arrrgh!). Being new to Logic Pro 9, I go to the internet and search my error message and it tells me to empty my downloads folder and trash (securely). I do this and I am good for about one or two more takes and then the same message.

Ok, so this morning I am looking at all my music files in my Finder window and I see I have hundreds (thousands?) of .aif files. I recognize many of these as deleted takes so I know the problem is pilot error (read: me - I know I am doing something wrong).

Being new to Logic Pro, I know I carried some bad habits from GarageBand with me. Namely, when I blow a take, I hit the delete key, I get a dialogue box saying, "Do you want to permanently delete this file? Operation can't be undone," I say yes - get rid of it." This is what I would do in GarageBand with bad takes. But now I am seeing all of these .aif files piling up in the Music folder.

So here are my questions:

1. How do I get rid of all of the unnecessary and useless .aif files without getting rid of the takes I want to keep?

2. What should I do with bad takes? I am still learning the finer points between "flattening" and "merge and flatten."

Any assistance would be GREATLY appreciated!

Thanks!

Dantes

Hi Dantes,