Using counterpoint within a composition?

Hi everyone

I am studying counterpoint but I'm struggling to incorporate what I am learning into a large composition.

At the moment I am able to manage relatively simple counterpoint in 3 parts. I only know how to actually use it if I were to write for 3 instruments, and not if there where other things going on in the composition. Let's say I was writing a song and all the instruments playing had landed on Cmaj7 chord like this; C - G* - B - C* - E - G*, I then want 3 of those notes (the ones with *) to go into 3 part counterpoint. What can I do with the other 3 notes instead of just stopping? Would I have to treat it as 6-part counterpoint or can they provide rhythm without without being a part of it?

Basically; how can I put my knowledge of 3-part counterpoint into use in a section that has more than 3 things going on?

Hi everyone

I am studying counterpoint but I'm struggling to incorporate what I am learning into a large composition.

At the moment I am able to manage relatively simple counterpoint in 3 parts. I only know how to actually use it if I were to write for 3 instruments, and not if there where other things going on in the composition. Let's say I was writing a song and all the instruments playing had landed on Cmaj7 chord like this; C - G* - B - C* - E - G*, I then want 3 of those notes (the ones with *) to go into 3 part counterpoint. What can I do with the other 3 notes instead of just stopping? Would I have to treat it as 6-part counterpoint or can they provide rhythm without without being a part of it?

Basically; how can I put my knowledge of 3-part counterpoint into use in a section that has more than 3 things going on?

What words are being sung during the time the instruments land on the Cmaj7 ?

Thanks for the replies

What words are being sung during the time the instruments land on the Cmaj7 ?

None, it's an orchestral piece. From lowest note to highest:

C- Cellos

G- Violas

B- Violas