dreadful industry standard!!!

radlid

Hey guys!

So I was at a job interview today and the reason I didn't get the gig was pretty much because I have no experience with; yes that's right Pro Tools!

Now I know I am at the wrong forum for these questions, but maybe I want sympathy :cry: or input from people who use both Logic and Pro Tools.

They said that they wanted to keep me on file incase they need a "Logic" guy or if I happened to learn Pro Tools. The sad thing is that the position was very cool and good doe with alot of potential growth. So as I left I had a thousand questions in my head.

I have some- to a lot of experience with (besides Logic of course) Reason, Ableton Live, Cubase, Cakewalk and Sony Vegas. But all l know about Pro Tools is that almost every goofball out there with Pro Tools don't know that they just have a minimized versions of Pro Tools and not actually the full version. And I also know that Pro Tools is much uglier then Logic. But that's it!

So my questions are:

1. Can you get a grasp of what Pro Tools really is by purchasing LE or M-powered? Can I work in LE and then be right on the money in HD aswell?

2. At what price does HD system start? Can I get used stuff what do I look for cards, firewire?

3. What's up with plugs? can I use mine in Pro Tools whats the difference with rtas/tdm?

4. Is it a completly different world from Logic? How hard is the transition?

Can I learn it fast? After all they're not hiring me cause I can cut audio files in two, better then anyone else, but rather because what or what I can't do with a mix sonically.

Thanks for your time!