Getting round the automatic midi note length

martinwaite

Hi everybody, I'm new to Logic, just switched over from Live last week. Finding Logic quite easy to use but, is there any way to disable the automatic note length in the piano rolls? Like, when I draw in a new note, it automatically makes it the same length as the last one I clicked on. Finding that quite annoying. In Live, it would automatically make the note fill a division that you had the grid set to, like 1/16th, 1/8th etc. I prefer that way over Logics default setting. Really appreciate it if you could help me out :D

is there any way to disable the automatic note length in the piano rolls?

If there is I couldn't find it. Maybe someone else can confirm.

when I draw in a new note, it automatically makes it the same length as the last one I clicked on.

I believe that is normal behavior in Logic.

In Live, it would automatically make the note fill a division that you had the grid set to, like 1/16th, 1/8th etc.

I haven't had to do that (I use a MIDI keyboard to input notes) but I think you should look into the Transform window. You may be able to do that there.

Note that If you make a note a certain size then the next time you click with the Pencil Tool it will duplicate the length. However, this can be good when you want to repeat many notes at the same length. If you click/hold with the Pencil Tool you can drag left and right to quickly adjust the length of the note.

DUDE!

Why have I NOT been using that thing??? Oh dear lord in heaven that makes inputing notes soooo much easier. No need to mouse, pencil and zoom in to see the piano roll; I just play the damn note on my keyboard! Set up some short cuts to toggle thru the note input values, and forward/backward and voila!

Thanks for posting that man, I've missed out on that feature for as long as I've been using Logic. I can't explain why, always must of browsed over it all these years; strange but true!

-B