logic pro 9 channel strip/instrument question

DJPolojarvi

Hello Logic Gurus,

Background: I'm new to Logic 9 and using a motif xf8 to connect to it via firewire. I'm also trying to use a variety of Native Instruments software instruments on it.

Question: When I create a new software instrument, the channel strip has two locations where the instrument name comes up. In the top slot (above EQ), I can only choose logic's instruments. In the bottom slot above the output button, many other things appear, including the native instruments groups and Logic's more powerful synth, like Sculpture. For some reason if I choose one of the lower ones, the top selection doesn't change, so I have Bosendorfer Grand in the top and exs24 in the bottom. The top slot supercedes the bottom slot. Depending on the selection I make, for example if I have exs24 in the top slot and Native Instruments Battery 3 in the the bottom, no sound comes out of the speakers. In other circumstances, no sound comes from the external speakers, but sound does come from the computer's built in speakers. At other combinations, sound comes out of the monitor speakers.

This all happens within the same project, with variations in the choices in a single channel strip.

My goal is to have access to the Native Instruments and Motif sounds. That top slot seems to be wrecking things. I've tried reading the manual and help booklets, but they seem to assume no one uses external instruments like the motif,so I can't find clear instructions on proper setup. The manual tutorials use the alphanumeric key pad.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

DJ

What you call the top slot is called the Channel Strip Setting button:

http://logicprohelp.com/forum/download/file.php?id=17428

What you call the bottom slot is called the instrument slot:

http://logicprohelp.com/forum/download/file.php?id=17429