Sounds/soundkits

being that i am not a professional producer, therefore i don't always have a lot of money to spend, are there any free or downloadable soundkits out there that anyone could recommend? also, if there are not, how exactly do you really get going with music production without having a descent set of sounds? as far as im concerned these days if you have a hot sound thats all it takes to make a catchy record.

When I was first getting going with Logic, and wanted to build up sounds (I was looking to reproduce 80's sounds specifically) and stumbled onto a MainStage concert that was on eBay, loaded with sounds that made up a few dozen songs from way back when. The price was right ($20), so I took a chance. The patches were exactly what I was looking for - but more importantly, the way he had created his sounds, and setup his MainStage "Concert" was a great template for me. I went through and saved off his channel strips, and created my own library of sounds, and ultimately a few Logic templates which serve as the basis for everything I do in Logic. All of his patches were created using the synths that come with Logic. (This is an important point -- Logic comes with some very powerful synths). So - what started out as a hunt for a few sounds, turned into a tremendous learning experience, and the basis for most everything I create in Logic. The sounds were (are) nice. I have since added a load of other AU plugins to my templates, applying most of the same channel strip core settings from my first templates to anything I add/create. I am rambling a bit -- but my point is, you will ultimately learn to construct sounds, and build up Logic templates. Learn the synths that come with Logic. They are extremely capable instruments. IMO - it is the best / cheapest way to build up sounds, and learn Logic (short of a book).