Noob In Need Of Help

JackGenius

Hey everyone

So three weeks ago I finally made the move and purchased Logic! And I have been hooked! I am completely new to production, having only spent a brief time djing with an ns7.

However, I am experiencing a problem and before making an attempt to fix it with what i've gathered browsing the internet, I felt it was in my best interest (especially when the wallet might become involved) to explain my personal situation and see what advice can be offered.

Ok! So, I believe I am experiencing pretty bad latency issues. Keep in mind I am very noob to all of this. I do not own the best macbook (had my original crash recently, bought an older macbook off craigslist for 400), and am using a korg microkontrol plugged directly into the mac.

Everything starts off ok, no recording latency seems apparent, however once my project has reached, lets say around 5-6 tracks with midi regions, I get playback latency. It is VERYYYY obvious. Despite notes in differing regions being perfectly aligned to play in sync, one hits before the other. Recently, in an unexplainable phenomena, on playback I had my snare track sound distorted, when it wasn't!! I would pause, and upon playing again it would sound fine!! This was a repeating cycle throughout the session.

I've read about soundcards and audio interfaces possibly being my solution?? I DO have macprovideo subscription to help me learn Logic, however their latency tutorial is unbearable. When it comes to technical issues, I am not interested in an 8 hr long tutorial explaining to me the background of latency....I just want to fix the problem!!!!!

Sorry if the topic is redundant, and THANK YOU!!!! to whoever can offer help after reading through all of this nonsense. I guess one last thing to point out is that I am using Skull Candy studio headphones for monitoring, so hey, at least I know thats not the issue!