Some Newbie SPDIF Help Anyone?

Gatormike

Having gotten my Stylus RMX all set up in the Environment and saving it all as a base song template, I have hit another "hurdle" and would appreciate any offered troubleshooting.

I want to lay all my guitar work to Logic from my Johnson J-Station via the SPDIF output: Guitar>J-Station>MOTU Traveler>G5Quad running Logic (latest upgrades possible on OSX and Logic). I see no reason to go back to analog on the tones I'm happy with.

Admittedly, I have no experience in Logic's Environment (but is that really necessary to bring in digital audio?? Thought it was more for midi and audio instruments). Perhaps I need to "slave" the MOTU Traveler to the SMPTE output of the J-Station (I haven't tried this yet)? Could I have an incompatible sampling rate set up (I cannot seem to find what the output is/should be on the J-Station to set Logic Preferences accordingly (I assume the Traveler should just pass this stuff through??).

I've poured over the Logic manuals to no avail. I have all the macprovideo stuff (which are great from what I've watched so far), but I have only begun watching those.

Can anyone just give me the cookie-cutter approach so I can start laying down tracks? I just want to create and appreciate any help you might offer.

Thanks in advance. Mike

Agreed.. however what won't be described in Logic's manual is setting your digital sync source with the motu hardware. Setting up an audio track and recording is simple, and as described in the logic documentation. I have the MOTU pci based system... and in the MOTU PCI control, I would have to set the clock source to the input that you have your J-Station hooked up to. With your MOTU gear slaved off the input, you shouldn't have any clicks or pops that are sure signs of digital signal out of sync.

Hi!

If I understand you correctly the answer is "no" you do not need to set things up in the environment.