A room to mix in

I've been using my Sony MDR headphones to mix with for about 5 years. I am tired of mixing with them and having my mix sound good ONLY in those guys. I bounce back and fourth when mixing between those, RP-21's, iPod buds, laptops speakers, crappy dell speakers, and a really absurdly bass heavy logitech pc speaker 2.1. It still sucks. In the end I end up with terrible crap on 80% of speakers and moderately acceptable on the other 20.

So I think I'm gonna sell some stuff and try to get some studio monitors. I don't think they have to be real nice, just GENERALLY flat. I figure I am always compraing my mixes to other albums so I can just do that, yea? Anyway I imagin eI'll spend at least 400$ on those...which makes me so sad. But the main reason I've never bothered with monitors was because I never had a room that was anything special to mix in.

So now I'm in a box, about 9ft wide, by 10ft long and about 9 foot high. There's a window opposite the door in the corner of the long measurement.

I don't need to really worry about sonic isolation because I don't plan to record in this room. I have Jeff Coopers "building a recording studio" and it's great...but great in a "hey I have space to execute some of this." I am going to use his advise as much as possible but...I'm in a box. I know I've got standing waves, I know I need bass traps and sound absorption but I need to do it as cheap as possible and last time I built a gobo it was like 90 bucks for materials =/

I did mine for about £200.

viewtopic.php?f=10&t=85239&p=445286#p445286

Check Shivers post and David's idea of the corner traps incase you have similar issues to me with a door in the corner. I made my stand up trap. It's just the same as the fixed corner trap except I used a P.A tripod and the plastic tripod adaptor from a PA speaker to attach the trap.