Logic isn't receiving midi via my audio interface..

ryry045

Hey people please help...

Ok I am trying to record into logic pro 9.1.1 from my Korg R3, I have my audio cables correctly inserted from my Korg to my audio interface and have my midi out cable inserted to midi in on my audio interface and vise versa.

Audio is showing up in Logic and I know this because I am receiving audio in my meter in the channel strip but yeah no midi data seems to be getting through....

I have a MacBook Pro 2 GHz i7 4 GB ram, my Korg, my audio interface is a Presonus Audiobox USB...

I know it is probably something really small that I have missed, I am pretty new to all this and would love to just get on with it and lay out some tracks....

Any help would be greatly appreciated..

Thanks Ryan...

Did you try it both ways? Here's what I would try:

1) Play some notes on the Korg and see if you see any activity in the transport bar's MIDI In display (otherwise says "No in").

2) Create an external MIDI track, select the Audiobox in the Library then the MIDI Out port connected to the Korg then a MIDI channel, record some notes on that track and play them back, see if they trigger the Korg? (plug headphones directly on the Korg)

Did you setup the midi devices in audio midi setup?

Are you trying to use softsynths or your hardware?

If hardware, did you try create a midi track in the arrange and check the port setting in the inspector?

Did you open up the library after selecting an external midi track and see if your hardware shows up?

Do you have an environment midi layer?

If you just want to test softsynths you should add the interface and the keyboard to Audio Midi Setup and open up one of the logic default templates with instruments and see if it works.

Actually there's nothing to set up in Audio MIDI Setup - Logic connects to MIDI devices directly without using Audio MIDI Setup.