Signature question: is 7 beats a 7/4 or 3/4 + 4/4?

Omnidextrous

Hi there,

Hoping this is the right board for this question, if not, please excuse me.

Thanks to the great help on this forum, especially David, I'm now beat mapping the entire "War of the Worlds" album into Logic in preparation of covering it. Besides the fluctuating tempo, I'm also running into "problems" with the signature throughout the album.

Since I have no musical background or education whatsoever, I'm sometime puzzled by the difference (if any) between different signatures with the same number of beats. For example:

In "The Eve of the War", there are sometime 6 beats in a bar, so will this be 6/4 or will this be an extra 2/4 after the regular 4/4?

In "Thunder Child" there is a part with a constant 7 beats in a bar. Will that be 7/4 or alternating 3/4 and 4/4?

In the end, it doesn't really matter since the result will pretty much be the same, but I was just kind of wondering what the exact difference is between 6/4 and 4/4 + 2/4 and the same for 7/4 and 3/4 + 4/4.

Just for my curiosity and education. :wink:

The difference between those time signatures is (probably) in accentuation, but there's no rule saying you must use 7/4 or 3/4 plus 4/4 - generally, whatever is better readable to a musician is used. So within Logic it really (as you discovered) doesn't matter, since 7/4 does include a 3/4 anyway - that's why these type of signature's are called compound, because you can always split them up in smaller subdivisions: 7/4 as 2+2+3 or 4+3 (in any order), and 6/4 as either 2+2+2, 4+2 or 3+3. So it's about readability of the score, but also about the perceived "unity" of such compound time signature accidentals. But again, purely as a sequencing thing, it does not matter at all, it's completely your choice how you divide them up.