'Download Additional Content' greyed out [SOLVED]

RyanF

Hi folks -- I know a lot of people have had problems with the additional content, but I still couldn't find an answer to my own.

I downloaded Logic 9.1.8 from the App Store. Had a look at it, then selected Download Additional Content from the menu.

Everything downloaded and I entered my admin password. The installation appeared to be fine until it came to Jam Pack 1. It hung on that for well over an hour. Clearly nothing was happening.

I was able to quit the app normally. When I reopened it I was asked if I wanted to resume the download. I selected that but got the beach ball. Force quit and tried it a few times, same result each time.

Next time I selected 'cancel download'. Now the 'Download Additional Content…' menu option is greyed out. But I can't see the content. If I click on Loops everything is greyed out, as if nothing is installed.

I'm new to Logic and might be missing something daft, I don't know. Appreciate any help at all. Thanks very much.

(MacBook Pro, 10.6.8)

Many thanks for your quick responses, folks. At least I knew there was no obvious answer. I called Apple and the guy simply clicked a button and I could suddenly click on 'Download Additional Content' again. There wasn't much to download, though. A few hundred MB here and there, seemingly at random from each of the packs. (If I had to do it again, I would download each pack separately.)

When it was done, the loops browser was still completely empty. I went to Library > Audio > Apple Loops > Apple and dragged one of the loops from one of the folders at random into the Loops browser to add it. I thought that that might've added the rest of the loops when I restarted the program, but it didn't. I ctrl-clicked the Loops browser and selected 'Reindex library' and after a couple of minutes it filled the Loops browser. I now have 15,653 items in there, which I hope is everything. If not, it should keep me going for a while!