Feedback loop Automap problem (Noob)

gordiegords

Hello, Im very new to this business, working my way through the Logic book which i'm enjoying very much, however i have one very annoying problem, feedback loops, I'm set up with a Nocturn Keyboard and automap software (dont get me started on that) Ok so what happens is, if i disable the Automap software and just use the keyboard as a midi keyboard i dont have a problem with sounds at all but i cant use the pots to control anything, i can only use the keys plus pitch bend, i then think "ok i want to be able to assigned pots etc so i'm gonna turn on auto map" then problem happens, feedback loop. louder and louder and louder until i hit record off on the track.

Someone please help this noob out.

Many thanks.

Gordie.

I don't see how the feedback is related to your MIDI controller. Audio feedback as you describe (getting louder and louder, etc) has more to do with your audio routing than your MIDI setup. It does exist a MIDI feedback, but that would appear as a repeat of notes or bizarre synth/Logic behaviour something like there is.ghost that plays with your gear...

However, you can test the implication of your controller by Bypassing all Control Surfaces (temporarily) to check if that solves the problem (temporarily).

If indeed your controller is involved, I would recommend that you reinstall your Automap driver according to this procedure I posted a while ago

Ok first of all thanks for replying, this makes sense, when I start logic up I get a dialogue box indicating something about mixer, hui, setup etc etc, I will try and post a picture, I'm thinking it has something to do with routing, I hoop you can help me out.

I'll try posting it later.

Thanks.

Gordie.

It would be important to know what is installed/connected in your setup, and what the latter is made of, so please comply to the board rule #5.