Volume help - Logic Pro 9

mixmanjohn

Hi ... newbie here ... I'm working with Logic pro 9 ... MacBook Pro (late 2011) KRK ROKIT 5's .. and my interface is a TASCAM US-144: http://tascam.com/product/us-144/

I have no problem at all with GarageBand .. but since switching to Logic .. things are "buggy"

I've imported some GarageBand songs into Logic ... they sound great ... but when I lay new tracks (real audio - Vocals - Keys - Guitar )

the new tracks play back super low (volume) I can hear them while I'm recording .. and they move the needle just fine during the recording process (meaning the meter lights are registering pretty high - almost into the red if I push ) ... but when I play back .. the newly recorded tracks are not very audible .. how do I fix this? I created a new project called "line check" I recorded drums and vocals ... they seemed OK ... but in comparison to previously recorded sound from GarageBand .. not nearly as loud

John

PS ... I realize how ridiculous the username "mix man" is .. it's the name of my cover band (The Mix) ... not to suggest that I'm a mixing engineer ..

Hi David ... yes .. I tried both ways ... recording with no plugins .. and recording with plugins .. basically monitoring a track (vocal) with the effect(s) already engaged ... the faders are up ... the signal lights are bouncing high .. but after the recording .. the playback of that track is really really quite ... and even if I pin the fader ... its not that loud ... just gets distorted and over modulated ..

Try again in a new project with zero plug-ins, all parameters zeroed in: what you get when recording should be what you get when you playback.