How do you guys prefer to route the output of your sound?

zephtragic

I've been performing music for 5 years, but I'm getting ready for my first performance using MainStage. I used to just output a mono signal of my piano to FOH. With my new project I'm using Mainstage for samples, backing tracks, drums, and soft synth.

My question is how should I be outputting all of this sound? I have an Apogee Duet 2 so that gives me up to 4 channel outs:

Main Left -------------------> (balanced)

Main Right ------------------> (balanced)

Headphone Left --------------> (unbalanced)

Headphone Right -------------> (unbalanced)

I presume the unbalanced headphone outs will not be a problem if I run it through a DI box (someone let me know if I'm wrong.)

I'm thinking I should be doing something like:

ch 1 -----> Synth/fx left

ch 2 -----> Synth/fx right

ch 3 -----> Kick drum

ch 4 -----> All other drums

Also does anyone know if I should have a dedicated channel for anything that's considered bass synth territory? Am I overthinking this and I should be sending the soundman just left/right channels?

Any advice from you more seasoned Mainstage musicians would be greatly appreciated.

ch 3 -----> Kick drum

What does this mean? What are those four channels representing? :shock: :?

I presume the unbalanced headphone outs will not be a problem if I run it through a DI box (someone let me know if I'm wrong.)

No, no DI Box. Unbalanced headphone outputs shouldn't be a problem.

Hey David,

What does this mean? What are those four channels representing?

Ch 1, 2, 3, 4 represent (at least in my head) the outputs on my Apogee:

Ch1 = Main Left -------------------> (balanced)

Ch2 = Main Right ------------------> (balanced)

Ch3 = Headphone Left --------------> (unbalanced)

Ch4 = Headphone Right -------------> (unbalanced)

I was thinking of sending the sound guy the sound from Mainstage split up into 4 seperate outs. Is that reasonable? or preferred?