Can someone help with several things please?

twistiejoe

Hello, I've been using Logic for nearly 2 years now. Still having trouble with several things, despite even taking university courses in this program lol.

1 - With certain samples I have to create an empty midi region and put the modulation to 126/127 to hear anything. Is there a way around this, or is there something I'm missing? It gets so fiddly when I'm trying to compose. Sometimes I have to hope that what I've played sounds okay and then just have to fix it later, but I want to hear what I'm doing WHILE it plays. What am I doing wrong there?

2 - In score view, I'm having trouble inputting notes with step-time on occasion. Sometimes I have to keep turning on and off midi input and output several times until the computer eventually realises that I'm trying to input notes. Is there something I'm missing here?

3 - Also in score view, viewing the region I have selected is a problem. I have to fiddle around with the magnifying glass tool. until I can finally see the region I want. Have I changed settings or something here?

4 - Still having trouble with stuttering midi only with EastWest PLAY. I'm running 16GB 2.7 ghz iMac and samples from G-RAID-0 drive e-sata to thunderbolt. When I highlight that particular track, as in it goes grey, it doesn't seem to be a problem. Also adding modulation causes the same problem sometimes. Is my computer not powerful enough for East West samples?

I hope someone can help me. If anyone live in New York City who can help me with this maybe you could come over and show me what I'm doing wrong. I would be willing to pay.

Many thanks.

Hey twistiejoe, generally, it's way better if you post one topic per thread. (See Forum rules - please READ THIS before posting, item #3.) This makes the search function at LPH work much better. These are all likely solvable by different people here on the forum, without you having to resort to paying someone to come over to your studio.