Console emulations in Logic?

It seems that every plugin manufacturer makes some sort of console emulation now to add the sonic signature of particular mixing desks etc. It strikes me that this is just about the only thing that's currently missing in Logic's stock plugins. I wonder if there are any plans to include this in upgrades or future versions? The plugins emulate cross-talk, distortion, harmonic generation etc etc. Anyone ever tried to model these using Logic's stock stuff?

I've got a lot of experience with these console emulating plugins, and I can tell you, there's nothing that these things do that can't be done with .5 db of eq and some high and low rolloff. They take away a lot more than they put in.. so its kind of the lazy man's eq. They're a total waste of computer resources and can do very bad things to your tracks if you aren't very careful. I've tried them all, and none are even close to working on an actual console.

If you want something fun to play with, try tape plugins. They get a lot more mileage for the money.

@ Galacticus - It's very unfortunate that you haven't had many good experiences with plugins that are designed to emulate analog consoles or buss comps and channel strips. I agree that there's a lot of tonal-shaping techniques to use that can get you close to "that sound", whether it's with saturation/distortion or carefully executed eq curves.

I tried to not be overly persuaded by the hype that most companies were putting out there, and instead, listened to what my ears told me. I was honestly impressed by the sound quality of Slate Digital's Virtual Console Collection (VCC). They give you 5 different analog modeled consoles to choose from, each with a distinctive sound that separates them from each other. I personally appreciated the fact that you can set up calibration settings, so you can configure how the console will react to the input.