"learn new assignments" automatically assign sysex messages

johnhollis

Greetings-

I'm new to the group, hello all.

I am a drummer who records himself. I use Logic Pro 9, a drumkat controller through a Roland octa-capture interface. This setup allows me to record without getting up from behind the drums over and over for obvious reasons.

So: opt-K, key commands window open, I select a function (record, stop, play etc) and select "learn new assignment" and a sysex message automatically appears as the new assignment, and so I cannot provide a midi note message. this happens 'nearly' every time for any function. I cannot find a setting in logic to ignore sysex messages for the key commands utility. There is a midi filter setting for sysex but this apparently does not apply to command assignments. This happens when the drumkat itself is on, off, hooked up or disconnected. The messages are coming from my Roland interface, which Roland has told me is normal sysex "handshake" data which cannot be turned off.

To add to the confusion, I actually have been able to *intermittently* assign commands in the past through this utility, but no longer, cannot get past sysex data populating my "new assignment". And in fact, all of my midi assignments I had before have been suddenly erased. Is this a bug or a setting or...?

Mac Mini intel dual core 1.83, OS 10.6.8, Logic Pro 9.0, Roland octa-capture, Drumkat 3.8

**Perhaps I posted in the wrong forum- this looks to be specific to Logic Pro X

Hi,