Help with playing software instruments with Logic Pro

Tallmaleuk

Hi everyone,

I am a newbie with regards to Logic Pro X and I need some help to play and record the software instruments/pre-set sounds that come with Logic Pro X. I am using a Korg Triton Extreme synthesizer as the main keyboard in my home recording set up and this is connected to an audio interface (Steinberg UR22). I have also connected my Korg Triton Extreme synthesizer to my Apple Imac computer with a USB cable for MIDI purposes but for some reason when I try to play a pre-set sound/software instrument in Logic Pro X I cannot hear any sound at all. Does anyone know why this could be?

When I am trying to use/record a software instrument/pre-set Logic Pro X sound I first select "New Software Instrument Track". I then select a software instrument from the Library of sounds on the left pane. I can see the selected software instrument on the track I have created but when I play my synthesizer I do not hear this sound.

On my Korg Triton Extreme I have selected MIDI Channel 1 and unchecked Local Control On box. There is also an option to select a preference for the MIDI Clock and this gives you three options:

1) Internal

2) External MIDI

3) External USB

With this section I am not sure which should be selected? So any advice about this problem would be gratefully received.

Many thanks

Hi

I'm new to LP and recently purchase a Korg Kronos, here's how I do it on the KK connected directly to my Mac.

Ensure you have the Korg drivers installed.

I go to Seq Mode so I have 16 channels, if you are in program mode you only have 1 channel.

In LP I choose External Midi Track and choose channel 1, this will be channel 1 on the Korg in Seq Mode, I leave the midi settings as they are in Global.

On the Korg choose your instrument on channel 1, as long as you have your Audio set up correctly in LP, it should work.