Multi Channel / Aux

Zicky

I'm just getting into Multi Channel, and Aux. I'm using EZDrummer, and I'm confused on how they connect. Is it trk to trk, or Aux, to Aux. For ex: When I choose Trak 1, it seems to connect with aux 2, and so on, so I'm not sure what's going. Not sure if I should I open 8 EZDrummer tracks for each drum part, and aux it that way.....Even the amount of Aux I'm given is only 5. When I have 8

drum pieces.

Very confused.....

I don't have EZ drummer, but I am assuming you have it set as a multi-channel instrument, and you are wanting respective parts, like kicks and snares to play in their own channel. You should be able to set this within easy drummer and route each one to it's own Aux. Then, you must go to (or create) the respective Aux track, and select the corresponding input. Now, whenever you play back your track, it should be in its respective channel. Does this help?

Thank you foryour repsonse...

Since I'm new at this. I have to find out how I can create Aux strips. When I go to an audio track, and go to where I can select/create Aux, it's only giving me like 3 Aux, When I've selected each part of the drum kit to be multichannel. I would think that if I select 8 part of the drum to be multichannel I would have 8 Aux to choose from in Logics channel strip...I'll keep trying.....cause this feature is gonna be very useful....

I'm going to make a suggestion. Before you try to set up EZ Drummer as a multi output instrument, do it with one of Logic's own plugs (use Ultrabeat for example). Here's why: Logic's plugs behave as expected when it comes to multi out. You put a multi-out instantiation of Ultrabeat on an instrument track and then set up aux channels with their inputs as the numerical outputs from that EXS. It works great. You can then disable the output from the actual instrument track itself and all is well.