Auto Input Monitoring still broken in 10.1 or not?

stormy

First post! :)

A bit of background: I've setup my new project studio with Logic Pro X. I am a fairly experienced Pro Tools operator. I had used Logic 9 in the past, but briefly.

I was doing some overdubs and I couldn't get auto input monitoring to work. I had to resort to clicking the "I" button even for recording.

I've found some posts by David where he states there was a known bug with it, but they are about 1 year old. Does this bug still exist?

I've also found out about the new pref "Input monitoring only for focused track, and record-enabled tracks" which I should disable.

Problem recap:

I'm doing overdubs. I have a record-enabled track, and I'm adding "comp" tracks, rather than simply punching in (it seems to be Logic's default, and it's fine by me).

• On playback, I want to hear the existing track. This works :)
  • On record, I want to hear the input when I punch in.

Auto input monitoring should take care of this. However, I had no input audio when recording unless I clicked the Input button. I have the impression that this problem was project-specific. I'm away from the studio now so I can't check.

Any ideas on what to look for? Or a confirmation of the bug? Maybe it was all that darned new preference?

Edited by stormy

Thanks! Unchecking that preference solved it. I've been trying to understand what is it good for, but I couldn't figure it out :D

Just to confirm, and for future searches that bring this topic, once that pref is unchecked, auto input monitor works like this:

-Record enabled tracks let you hear the input when the transport is stopped.

-On play, you hear the track.

-On punch-in, you hear the input.

I sometimes would need record enabled tracks to not pass the input audio with the transport stopped, but I don't think that can be done unless I switch auto input off and deal with the input options manually.

• 1 year later...