Help with latency settings for recording external gear

razzzzz

So I'm recording some drums and synths from my outboard gear. I'm using Midi Clock sent from Logic to my drum machine to synch playback. When I record, the first drum hit is slightly cut off (see image below of the 2nd drum hit which doesn't line up with the grid... I'm illustrating this with the 2nd hit so you can see just how much of the drum hit is cut off).

1366152800_ScreenShot2014-09-30at11_50_13PM.png.8e0223f355f640be5edccdb07a5ad99a.png

This causes an issue when I try to loop the region (obviously, I hear a pop). I know I can add a very short fade to the beginning of the region, but I'm curious if there is a way to prevent this altogether. Should I be using low latency mode? Should I set the buffer size as low as possible? I've been reading through the forums and the user manual, but all of the explanations seem to fly over my pea-sized brain.

I'm new to this whole recording with outboard gear thing, and I'm hoping it's a simple issue of choosing the right settings. Any help?

So tweaked some settings and I'm seeing some results that are raising even more questions:

I found a setting for "Delay Transmission" in the Project Synchronization settings menu. I set this to a 10 tick delay so logic would delay the clock message to the drum machine and hopefully not cut off the first drum hit. Settings below:

500037885_ScreenShot2014-10-01at11_32_57AM.thumb.png.2be7cc963007b81315511b3ac6e6fbde.png

Project Synchronization Settings

I did a few recordings and, in general, it helped. MOST of the time the first drum kick is not cut off, but I'm seeing some inconsistent results. Check out the screenshot below of two separate recordings, both made with the same settings.

913235808_ScreenShot2014-10-01at11_31_47AM.png.d61dbd73c53a8bfd429a9e5b58c29b50.png

2 Recordings, Different Results