Tips on mixing my first song with Logic Pro X

Hi everyone,

I am a newbie with regards to Logic Pro X and home recording in general but I have finally reached the point where I want to mix my first song with Logic Pro X and I just wondered if anyone of you knowledgeable users have any tips for a beginner like myself with regards to mixing my first song?

The first thing I need to know is quite basic but what should the volume levels be on the tracks for example:

Best volume levels for mixing a song:

1) Drums

2) Bass

3) Guitars

4) Solo Guitar

5) Lead Vocals

6) Background Vocals

7) Percussion

8) Synthesizer Chords

9) Synthesizer Riffs

10) Strings

I also need to know the Best settings and the Best effects I can use to enhance:

1) Vocals

2) Background Vocals

If there is anything that I might have missed that you guys think I need to know about then i would welcome any advice about mixing my first song. I have heard so much about effects like Reverb and Compressin that I would love to know any helpful tips you might have.

Many thanks.

There are no rules, and no one else is making the music you are making.

Mixing is about placing the instruments where *you* want them to be. Referencing other similar tracks will help, but ultimately, you do what you feel, and over time build up your knowledge, experience and skills, like any other complex art - you can't be expected to produce a commercial sounding mix when you're new at this - you make the best music you ca, and you learn, and hopefully a few years on, after doing hundreds of songs, you will be much better than where you are now.

Now one can tell you, without hearing the audio, how to mix a track via text.