Don't know how to import and edit MIDI sounds

zakbenj

Hi guys

Firstly, I'm completely new to logic pro x

I downloaded it yesterday along with two sample packs which contain loads of wav files and midi files, ranging from bass to drum hits

I have my Mikrokorg XL connected as a MIDI keyboard

Basically, what I want to do is import the MIDI file/sound, and then have the ability to edit the pitch/note of the sound with my MIDI keyboard

Problem - whenever I open one of these MIDI files 'with' logic pro x, it looks like it opens the sound, however, with the grand piano playing it every time (sometimes not at all) which is not what I want (screenshot attached)

The pack also comes with wavs so I was wondering also if I can change the note of the wav with my MIDI keyboard

Any help would be greatly appreciated for this noob

Thank you!

1631178212_ScreenShot2014-09-13at01_02_19.thumb.png.3edc169e1e5ca6bfd81af3487752663d.png

Screenshot attached

Welcome to the wonderful world of Logic Pro X and to this board.

Please abide with this board rule #5, which essentially consist on posting your system specs in your signature. That will certainly help us help you.

it seems by your question that you are unaware of the difference between MIDI and audio. Logic deals with these differently, although amalgamate them when comes to create music.

According to your screen capture, you have created an external MIDI track which is assigned to a general MIDI patch (piano), which is the default setting when creating the an external MIDI track.

It is unclear of what you are trying to achieve.

With the MicroKorg, you could play/record virtual instrument (plugin in Logic), or play/record MIDI data (which could be used to playback a MicroKorg synth sound), and /or record that MicroKorg synth sound in Logic (on an audio track)... among other things...