A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
Jimi-Dharma
Topic Author
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 8:39 am
Location: Costa Rica, Central America

In/Out Utility Mix parameter keeps slipping phase

Sat Jun 19, 2021 9:07 pm

I've got a 500 Series rack with some goodies, and I'm been routing to and from with the in/out utility for a while now. The mix parameter almost never works right. I hit the ping button, reset the audio device, quit and reopen, etc. Sometimes it works great, but it seems like as I make other adjustments with plugins etc, something will happen that causes a slip in phase, and sometimes a massive delay. I can't figure it out.

I'm using an aggregate device for the Cymatic Audio uTrack and the Roland Studio Capture Simultaneously. No other hiccups with this setup.

Any ideas on keeping the in/out utility in phase consistently?

Thanks in advance!!
 
User avatar
Atlas007
Posts: 9828
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:58 pm
Location: Montreal

Re: In/Out Utility Mix parameter keeps slipping phase

Sat Jun 19, 2021 9:20 pm

Depending of your mileage. perhaps the snap to zero crossing feature might be at stake...
LogicPro 10.6.3, MainStage3.5.3
MBPro 17", Core2Duo, 8G, OSX 10.12.6
MacPro, Xeon 6Cores, 64GB, OSX 10.15.7
ULN8, MOTU MIDI TP-AV, C4, MCU Pro, KorgNano, Novation SLMkII
AAS, NI, Celemony, Spectrasonics, Korg, Arturia, etc...
PC, iPad3(V-Control & LogicRemote), AtariST(Notator SL), Several vintage gear
 
Jimi-Dharma
Topic Author
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 8:39 am
Location: Costa Rica, Central America

Re: In/Out Utility Mix parameter keeps slipping phase

Sun Jun 20, 2021 9:36 am

Thanks. Where is that perimeter? I’ll try changing it.
-JIMI-DHARMA-

Logic Pro X
OS Mojave
13” MACBOOK PRO i7
16 GB Ram

Roland StudioCapture
Cymatic Audio uTrack24
 
User avatar
Atlas007
Posts: 9828
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:58 pm
Location: Montreal

Re: In/Out Utility Mix parameter keeps slipping phase

Fri Jun 25, 2021 5:06 am

As mentioned (in my previous post) on the webpage where my url link in pointing at stipulates:

    Set edits to snap to zero crossings
      In Logic Pro, choose Snap Edits to Zero Crossings from the Snap pop-up menu in the Tracks area menu bar.
LogicPro 10.6.3, MainStage3.5.3
MBPro 17", Core2Duo, 8G, OSX 10.12.6
MacPro, Xeon 6Cores, 64GB, OSX 10.15.7
ULN8, MOTU MIDI TP-AV, C4, MCU Pro, KorgNano, Novation SLMkII
AAS, NI, Celemony, Spectrasonics, Korg, Arturia, etc...
PC, iPad3(V-Control & LogicRemote), AtariST(Notator SL), Several vintage gear
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 85270
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: In/Out Utility Mix parameter keeps slipping phase

Fri Jun 25, 2021 5:11 am

I don't think snapping edits to zero crossing would help here, the issue isn't with syncing audio regions on the grid but with audio streams being delayed and ending up out of phase apparently. I would guess that this has something to do with plug-in latency compensation. You could experiment with the different compensation settings in your Logic audio preferences.

In the end if you can't seem to get stable behaviors then you may want to consider going old school and printing the effect to an audio track, which would alleviate these issues?
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM