A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
alexrkopp
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2020 12:05 pm

Plugins, Routing and I/O Shifted like crazy Very Odd

Wed Dec 02, 2020 12:37 pm

Hey everyone,

Was working on a demo for a Film project today. Nearly done, when i went to Export audio to movie.. Accidentally hit, Import audio from movie.. SHould be no issue, just hit undo and remove that audio track that it added.. Simple..
but something weird happened..

Logic shifted all of my plugins and Ins/Outs to randomness.. At first i thought that some how the plugins all maybe like moved down a channel or something but there was no order to it..

For Example: I have everything broken into Summing folders / buses . Drums, Keys, Bass, Strings, ETC. which are Bus 1, 2, 3, 4 ETC.

Some how this process like changed everything around. every track in Say the Drums Sub, was now going to random number different busses as the outputs, as well as those audio and midi tracks had the plugins and inserts from say a strings track...

In the edit window it looked correct but there was no method to the order of which it moved things.. When you played back Midi that was a strings part was playing a kick drum and going out the vocal buss..

Whats extra odd is it like turned buses to Faux instrument tracks.. A bus in the mix window no longer had a fader. One some how had an instrument on its input even though it was an audio bus...

One of the strangest things ive ever had happen and Undo ETC. was not reverting it.. Luckily the session was a smaller one so just by trial and error i was able to realign things.. i think..

Has anyone ever had something similar happen? If so what caused it, and how did you fix it / prevent it next time?


Thanks in advance for any input
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 85148
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Plugins, Routing and I/O Shifted like crazy Very Odd

Thu Dec 03, 2020 2:51 am

I've never seen this and I have no idea what could have caused it. Unless you had multiple projects open at the same time? That is known to mess up plug-ins in the Mixer. Other than that, I don't know.

To prevent anything like that messing up your project just make sure you save at regular intervals and always have backups that you can easily revert to. My apologies if I'm stating the obvious but having been bitten more than once I always religiously secure multiple versions of backups of the current project at various stages of the production process, should I ever need to revert to them for whatever reason.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 85148
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Plugins, Routing and I/O Shifted like crazy Very Odd

Sun Dec 06, 2020 6:18 am

Apparently it turns out that this issue is tied with importing audio from movie.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
User avatar
question
Posts: 181
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 2:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugins, Routing and I/O Shifted like crazy Very Odd

Sun Dec 06, 2020 8:43 am

Hi Alex,
David has sent me over to your topic, which seems related to my issue.
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=153815&p=806045#p806045
I have also had the same chaos happen twice in the past few weeks.
I imported the audio from a 90 minute film into an existing Logic project, which has many existing audio, software instruments, midi objects and busses etc..
I did not make the connection to the film audio import causing the problem, probably because I think I did an audio bounce on the arrange window shortly thereafter.
Normally I import the film and its audio into the project before I start creating tracks and instruments to start writing, but this time I recieved a new cut from the film, which then required me to import it into an existing project.
Since I don't work this way very often, I don't know if this problem existed before my current Logic version (10.5)

I will do a test when I have some time to see if we can determine if this is the cause so that we can avoid it with a work-around.
This is really dangerous because, as we both noted, the undo function is of no help.
I make backups constantly, but that is not much help if the undo funtion does not capture the chaos so to speak.

If I can repeat the issue, I will write again on your thread.

If anone else has any insights, please share your wisdom!
Last edited by question on Sun Dec 06, 2020 10:44 am, edited 1 time in total.
LP 10.5.1, OS 10.14.6, Intel 12 core 3.0, 64GB RAM, Apogee DA16X, AD16X
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 85148
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Plugins, Routing and I/O Shifted like crazy Very Odd

Sun Dec 06, 2020 9:17 am

If one of you can find a way to make this issue reproducible then that will go a long way toward helping out the programmers figure out how to fix it.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
User avatar
question
Posts: 181
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 2:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugins, Routing and I/O Shifted like crazy Very Odd

Tue Dec 08, 2020 6:17 am

Today I tested importing a film and its audio into an existing project, and it worked fine.
This means one of two things; either it is an intermittent bug or something else is causing the chaos.
Alex seemed sure that his film audio import caused the issue, I can not say definitively that that is what caused it for me.
In addition to importing a film and its audio, I did a few other edits before I noticed that something went wrong.

Does anyone else have this issue or is willing to see if you can reproduce this on your system?

Just open a film and import its audio into a project that has multiple audio, MIDI and software instruments and see if the track assignments become jumbled.

Thanks!
LP 10.5.1, OS 10.14.6, Intel 12 core 3.0, 64GB RAM, Apogee DA16X, AD16X
 
Barefoot
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2020 9:38 am

Re: Plugins, Routing and I/O Shifted like crazy Very Odd

Tue Dec 08, 2020 5:06 pm

I also have this bug. But for me it has nothing to do with importing audio/movie etc. The thing that stands out for me in these bugged projects is that I’ve used channel strip settings that I’ve gotten from a friend of mine. I really wanna use these channel strip settings so it’s annoying.
 
User avatar
question
Posts: 181
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 2:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugins, Routing and I/O Shifted like crazy Very Odd

Wed Dec 09, 2020 1:09 am

Barefoot, I also have a few imported channel strip settings in this project.
I don't know if that is relevant, but it might be worth investigating as a possible factor.
It seems we all have one common action; creating or deleting tracks. ie. Importing movie track, bouncing and creating a track automatically, busses, metronome disappearing etc.
I am not a programmer, so I don't know if this helps get to a solution.
LP 10.5.1, OS 10.14.6, Intel 12 core 3.0, 64GB RAM, Apogee DA16X, AD16X
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 85148
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Plugins, Routing and I/O Shifted like crazy Very Odd

Wed Dec 09, 2020 1:11 am

question wrote:
Barefoot, I also have a few imported channel strip settings in this project.

How were the CSS imported into the project?
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
Barefoot
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2020 9:38 am

Re: Plugins, Routing and I/O Shifted like crazy Very Odd

Wed Dec 09, 2020 1:14 am

Okay good to know! Could it maybe be that those saved channel strips have their instrument numbers etc saved in the environment, and then it’s trying to force occupy its last instrument number and therefor moving stuff around?
 
User avatar
question
Posts: 181
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 2:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugins, Routing and I/O Shifted like crazy Very Odd

Wed Dec 09, 2020 1:26 am

Hi David,
I believe in the browser I imported a few CSS with their associated midi objects.
It could be possible that I also loaded a CSS in the mixer from ones that I had saved in another project.
I am working on a film so I am constantly switching between several projects, which have different scenes.
The various content; midi, audio and channel strips, are imported as I need them. Could this be a cause?
I have always worked this way without these issues.
LP 10.5.1, OS 10.14.6, Intel 12 core 3.0, 64GB RAM, Apogee DA16X, AD16X
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 85148
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Plugins, Routing and I/O Shifted like crazy Very Odd

Wed Dec 09, 2020 1:28 am

question wrote:
I am working on a film so I am constantly switching between several projects, which have different scenes.
The various content; midi, audio and channel strips, are imported as I need them. Could this be a cause?

Do you sometimes keep one project open while you open another one?
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
Barefoot
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2020 9:38 am

Re: Plugins, Routing and I/O Shifted like crazy Very Odd

Wed Dec 09, 2020 1:32 am

David Nahmani wrote:
question wrote:
I am working on a film so I am constantly switching between several projects, which have different scenes.
The various content; midi, audio and channel strips, are imported as I need them. Could this be a cause?

Do you sometimes keep one project open while you open another one?


No never.
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 85148
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Plugins, Routing and I/O Shifted like crazy Very Odd

Wed Dec 09, 2020 1:35 am

Ok, I just had to ask ... because up until recently, when users reported these types of issues, they were consistently traced back to having multiple projects open simultaneously (which IMO should be made impossible in Logic to avoid the issue altogether). Sorry to hear it's not that simple in your case.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
User avatar
question
Posts: 181
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 2:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugins, Routing and I/O Shifted like crazy Very Odd

Wed Dec 09, 2020 1:39 am

Barefoot,
I don't know, but in any case it seems to have something to do with track management that has been changed in a recent update. I have been working this way for many years and have never once had a track, bus or routing lose its instrument-track assignment.
As someone pointed out, there is a new option to automatically create a new track when glueing audio together on the arrange window, maybe this is related as that is what caused the issue for me. (I think!)
LP 10.5.1, OS 10.14.6, Intel 12 core 3.0, 64GB RAM, Apogee DA16X, AD16X
 
User avatar
question
Posts: 181
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 2:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugins, Routing and I/O Shifted like crazy Very Odd

Wed Dec 09, 2020 1:41 am

David,
no, I do not have multiple projects open at the same time.
LP 10.5.1, OS 10.14.6, Intel 12 core 3.0, 64GB RAM, Apogee DA16X, AD16X
 
Barefoot
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2020 9:38 am

Re: Plugins, Routing and I/O Shifted like crazy Very Odd

Wed Dec 09, 2020 1:43 am

David Nahmani wrote:
Ok, I just had to ask ... because up until recently, when users reported these types of issues, they were consistently traced back to having multiple projects open simultaneously (which IMO should be made impossible in Logic to avoid the issue altogether). Sorry to hear it's not that simple in your case.


Yes I’ve heard! Is it possible to do a diagnostic test or anything similar on a project like this to maybe see if there is a certain error? I have one project from yesterday. A very small project with a few instrumentals and a few vocal stacks. I used one of the channel strip settings on the vocals, that’s why I think it may has something to do with it
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 85148
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Plugins, Routing and I/O Shifted like crazy Very Odd

Wed Dec 09, 2020 1:45 am

question wrote:
As someone pointed out, there is a new option to automatically create a new track when glueing audio together on the arrange window, maybe this is related as that is what caused the issue for me. (I think!)

Where can this option be found? I'm could run some tests.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
Barefoot
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2020 9:38 am

Re: Plugins, Routing and I/O Shifted like crazy Very Odd

Wed Dec 09, 2020 1:46 am

question wrote:
Barefoot,
I don't know, but in any case it seems to have something to do with track management that has been changed in a recent update. I have been working this way for many years and have never once had a track, bus or routing lose its instrument-track assignment.
As someone pointed out, there is a new option to automatically create a new track when glueing audio together on the arrange window, maybe this is related as that is what caused the issue for me. (I think!)


Yes that could be the case, but I’ve had this bug since late 2018/early 2019
 
User avatar
question
Posts: 181
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 2:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugins, Routing and I/O Shifted like crazy Very Odd

Wed Dec 09, 2020 1:53 am

David Nahmani wrote:
Where can this option be found? I'm could run some tests.


David,
I could not find a preference to disable it, I just noticed that the behavior that I am familiar with when glueing audio objects together has changed.
It used to be that the glued objects would stay on the track on which you glued them.
In my case, perhaps I had another track selected, the audio pieces stayed unglued on the original track while creating a new track with the merged object.
LP 10.5.1, OS 10.14.6, Intel 12 core 3.0, 64GB RAM, Apogee DA16X, AD16X