A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
User avatar
Eric Cardenas
Moderator
Topic Author
Posts: 22735
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 1:47 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Save Patch with Aux without creating Summing Stack [HACK]

Sun Sep 27, 2015 9:43 am

There's a limitation, in place right now, regarding saving patches and including the aux and bus routings.
The workaround is to use a Summing Stack but this is not always so elegant.

Here's an alternative method:

  1. Create a channel strip and create one or many bus routings.

    1. Channels.png
    1. Channels.png (77.42 KiB) Viewed 11653 times


  2. Create tracks for the aux channel strips and make a summing stack of them.

    2. Sum it up.png
    2. Sum it up.png (41.11 KiB) Viewed 11653 times


  3. Open the MIDI environment and locate the original channel strip. Drag and drop it over the Sum track then delete the redundant duplicate track inside the stack.

    3. Subtract.png
    3. Subtract.png (30.6 KiB) Viewed 11653 times


  4. You will see a that the channel strips now are grouped. Save it as your new patch.

    4. Grouped channels.png
    4. Grouped channels.png (77.16 KiB) Viewed 11653 times


I don't know how this holds up, as it's clearly a hack, but it appears to work consistently.

/Eric
Eric Bradley Cardenas
EC Making Sound
Mac mini 2.6 GHz 16GB RAM Areca⚡RAID | MacBook Pro 2.3 GHz 16GB RAM | Os 10.14.5
Logic Pro 10.4.5 | RME Fireface UFX | Adam A7 + Sub8 | Spectrasonics | Softube
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 83552
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Save Patch with Aux without creating Summing Stack [HACK

Sun Sep 27, 2015 11:55 am

Pretty awesome. Thanks!!
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
User avatar
Eric Cardenas
Moderator
Topic Author
Posts: 22735
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 1:47 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Re: Save Patch with Aux without creating Summing Stack [HACK

Thu Oct 01, 2015 4:56 am

You're welcome David.
Eric Bradley Cardenas
EC Making Sound
Mac mini 2.6 GHz 16GB RAM Areca⚡RAID | MacBook Pro 2.3 GHz 16GB RAM | Os 10.14.5
Logic Pro 10.4.5 | RME Fireface UFX | Adam A7 + Sub8 | Spectrasonics | Softube
 
User avatar
3ple
Posts: 1719
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 3:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Save Patch with Aux without creating Summing Stack [HACK]

Sun Sep 25, 2016 4:55 pm

Eric Cardenas wrote:
There's a limitation, in place right now, regarding saving patches and including the aux and bus routings.
The workaround is to use a Summing Stack but this is not always so elegant.

Here's an alternative method:

  1. Create a channel strip and create one or many bus routings.

    1. Channels.png

  2. Create tracks for the aux channel strips and make a summing stack of them.

    2. Sum it up.png

  3. Open the MIDI environment and locate the original channel strip. Drag and drop it over the Sum track then delete the redundant duplicate track inside the stack.

    3. Subtract.png

  4. You will see a that the channel strips now are grouped. Save it as your new patch.

    4. Grouped channels.png


I don't know how this holds up, as it's clearly a hack, but it appears to work consistently.

/Eric

Ok so I decided to try this today, because I want to save some patches. I don't get a few things:
1 - does this hack provide anything new that the summing track doesn't or is it just an aesthetic thing? Like, instead of having a summing track with the channel strip and busses inside, then you have only the channel strip and the busses?
2 - If I open a factory patch for a software instrument or even an audio patch, it creates the auxs, but when I try to save it, it doesn't save with the auxs. Is this the normal behavior and the only way is to really create tracks for the auxs and save them all together? It's just weird that it's possible since the factory patches include them and create them when necessary, but we can't save them without creating the tracks for the auxs. Am I missing something?
thanks! :)
This 3ple account is no longer active. All my new posts are under "Danny Wyatt":
memberlist.php?mode=viewprofile&u=86177
 
User avatar
Eric Cardenas
Moderator
Topic Author
Posts: 22735
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 1:47 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Re: Save Patch with Aux without creating Summing Stack [HACK]

Mon Sep 26, 2016 1:03 am

1. It saves an additional bus/aux. 

2. Yes, this is normal behaviour and it is what I was trying to circumvent using this method.
The factory patches have a slightly different configuration with additional mappings.
Eric Bradley Cardenas
EC Making Sound
Mac mini 2.6 GHz 16GB RAM Areca⚡RAID | MacBook Pro 2.3 GHz 16GB RAM | Os 10.14.5
Logic Pro 10.4.5 | RME Fireface UFX | Adam A7 + Sub8 | Spectrasonics | Softube
 
User avatar
3ple
Posts: 1719
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 3:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Save Patch with Aux without creating Summing Stack [HACK]

Mon Sep 26, 2016 8:50 am

Eric Cardenas wrote:
1. It saves an additional bus/aux. 

2. Yes, this is normal behaviour and it is what I was trying to circumvent using this method.
The factory patches have a slightly different configuration with additional mappings.

Thanks for the reply! :) I will try your method again and will try to really see the differences between the two to understand the advantage. Maybe I'm doing something wrong, because I couldn't understand the benefit. But thanks for the workaround and I hope apple changes this. It really doesn't make sense, if it works for their patches. ;)
This 3ple account is no longer active. All my new posts are under "Danny Wyatt":
memberlist.php?mode=viewprofile&u=86177
 
User avatar
cforlong
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 8:33 am
Location: North of Toronto

Re: Save Patch with Aux without creating Summing Stack [HACK]

Sat Oct 22, 2016 12:17 pm

This is great.  I was a little confused with the last step ..... but a lightbulb clicked on and I got it. 

PatchBus.gif
PatchBus.gif (1.99 MiB) Viewed 10773 times
Logic Pro X 10.2.4                                • Audio Interface Focusrite Forte
iMac 27" 3.5 GHz Intel Core i7             • Controller Nektar P1
OS 10.12 • 24GB RAM                           • Wireless Lemur for iPad
 
User avatar
Eric Cardenas
Moderator
Topic Author
Posts: 22735
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 1:47 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Re: Save Patch with Aux without creating Summing Stack [HACK]

Sat Oct 22, 2016 12:45 pm

That's great. :)
Eric Bradley Cardenas
EC Making Sound
Mac mini 2.6 GHz 16GB RAM Areca⚡RAID | MacBook Pro 2.3 GHz 16GB RAM | Os 10.14.5
Logic Pro 10.4.5 | RME Fireface UFX | Adam A7 + Sub8 | Spectrasonics | Softube
 
User avatar
cforlong
Posts: 112
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 8:33 am
Location: North of Toronto

Re: Save Patch with Aux without creating Summing Stack [HACK]

Sat Oct 22, 2016 1:07 pm

Eric .... your 'tip' is going to save me a lot of work. It's more than just with the 'saving the AUX in the patch trick.
With a patch like this, my MIDI controller (Panorama P1) sees everything correctly.
No setup or custom configurations are needed ... because the Instrument has the focus .... and the SENDs are subordinates of the instrument that are displayed on my MIDI controller's LCD exactly as they should.
When the patch has the AUX at the top of the hierarchy .... I could not 'get to' the instrument easily via the MIDI controller.

Thanks again, Eric. You're always great help here on LPH
Logic Pro X 10.2.4                                • Audio Interface Focusrite Forte
iMac 27" 3.5 GHz Intel Core i7             • Controller Nektar P1
OS 10.12 • 24GB RAM                           • Wireless Lemur for iPad
 
User avatar
Eric Cardenas
Moderator
Topic Author
Posts: 22735
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 1:47 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Re: Save Patch with Aux without creating Summing Stack [HACK]

Sat Oct 22, 2016 1:21 pm

I'm really glad you like it. 
Eric Bradley Cardenas
EC Making Sound
Mac mini 2.6 GHz 16GB RAM Areca⚡RAID | MacBook Pro 2.3 GHz 16GB RAM | Os 10.14.5
Logic Pro 10.4.5 | RME Fireface UFX | Adam A7 + Sub8 | Spectrasonics | Softube
 
rededfred2010
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2018 1:22 pm

Re: Save Patch with Aux without creating Summing Stack [HACK]

Mon Jul 16, 2018 1:28 pm

Hello. I am new here but hope to enjoy a long stay.
This hack is great and works perfectly but we are now on 10.4.1 Is there an easier way to do it now ?
Can't we now do it just like the factory patches ?
Thanks in Advance. Paul.
Logic X 10.4.4
 
FranzKano
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 8:02 am

Re: Save Patch with Aux without creating Summing Stack [HACK]

Tue Dec 11, 2018 2:06 am

Thanks a lot Eric! This makes my life easier! :D