A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Topic Author
Posts: 87010
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Apple Spatial Audio — Dolby Atmos Music Production Tutorials

Fri Jun 25, 2021 2:26 am

If you want to learn how to produce music in Dolby Atmos, here's a link to the Dolby Atmos Training Curriculum for Post and Music Production. While Apple has promised Spatial Audio support in Logic Pro before the end of the year, there's no need to wait and plug-ins are available to produce music in the Dolby Atmos format right now.

Here's a link to the training:

https://learning.dolby.com/hc/en-us/art ... f-Contents
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.7.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
Big Island
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 7:45 pm

Re: Apple Spatial Audio — Dolby Atmos Music Production Tutorials

Fri Jun 25, 2021 2:56 am

What version of Logic is required to get the dolby atmos world?
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Topic Author
Posts: 87010
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Apple Spatial Audio — Dolby Atmos Music Production Tutorials

Fri Jun 25, 2021 2:59 am

Big Island wrote:
What version of Logic is required to get the dolby atmos world?

Right, now, any version should work, but you'll have to use the Dolby Atmos Renderer and the Dolby Atmos Panner: https://professionalsupport.dolby.com/s ... -Logic-Pro
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.7.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
Big Island
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 7:45 pm

Re: Apple Spatial Audio — Dolby Atmos Music Production Tutorials

Fri Jun 25, 2021 3:14 am

Thanks!
 
Craig6973
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2021 2:13 am

Re: Apple Spatial Audio — Dolby Atmos Music Production Tutorials

Fri Jul 09, 2021 6:08 pm

David sorry for the dumb question
Don't You need to have like the speakers to be able to hear this ?
I only have Headphones and two speaker montors
 
User avatar
Atlas007
Posts: 10394
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:58 pm
Location: Montreal

Re: Apple Spatial Audio — Dolby Atmos Music Production Tutorials

Mon Jul 12, 2021 5:23 am

What is the difference between binaural and Dolby Atmos, I mean sonically speaking?
LogicPro 10.7.1, MainStage 3.5.4
MBPro 17", Core2Duo, 8G, OSX 10.12.6
MacPro, Xeon 6Cores, 64GB, OSX 10.15.7
ULN8, MOTU MIDI TP-AV, C4, MCU Pro, KorgNano, Novation SLMkII
AAS, NI, Celemony, Spectrasonics, Korg, Arturia, etc...
PC, iPadPro 5th gen 12.9”(Duet D., V-Control & LogicRemote), AtariST(Notator SL), Several vintage gear
 
Craig6973
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2021 2:13 am

Re: Apple Spatial Audio — Dolby Atmos Music Production Tutorials

Tue Jul 13, 2021 1:19 pm

Hi Atlas007,
Sorry I never use binaural or Dolby Atmos,

And Dolby Atmos, I was always told that you need a 7.1 or I think now its 11.1 speaker setup to be able to hear or even get the best result or donot even brother

Maybe someone can help me to understand what I might be missing?

Sorry if my 50’s always learn stuff to learn
 
User avatar
Atlas007
Posts: 10394
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:58 pm
Location: Montreal

Re: Apple Spatial Audio — Dolby Atmos Music Production Tutorials

Tue Jul 13, 2021 3:33 pm

Craig6973 wrote:
Hi Atlas007,
Sorry I never use binaural or Dolby Atmos,

And Dolby Atmos, I was always told that you need a 7.1 or I think now its 11.1 speaker setup to be able to hear or even get the best result or donot even brother

Maybe someone can help me to understand what I might be missing?

Sorry if my 50’s always learn stuff to learn

Well it is mentioned here that it can be played in a regular pair of headphones...
LogicPro 10.7.1, MainStage 3.5.4
MBPro 17", Core2Duo, 8G, OSX 10.12.6
MacPro, Xeon 6Cores, 64GB, OSX 10.15.7
ULN8, MOTU MIDI TP-AV, C4, MCU Pro, KorgNano, Novation SLMkII
AAS, NI, Celemony, Spectrasonics, Korg, Arturia, etc...
PC, iPadPro 5th gen 12.9”(Duet D., V-Control & LogicRemote), AtariST(Notator SL), Several vintage gear
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Topic Author
Posts: 87010
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Apple Spatial Audio — Dolby Atmos Music Production Tutorials

Tue Oct 19, 2021 6:25 am

Here's a new video following the release of Logic Pro 10.7.

David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.7.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
User avatar
Atlas007
Posts: 10394
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:58 pm
Location: Montreal

Re: Apple Spatial Audio — Dolby Atmos Music Production Tutorials

Tue Oct 19, 2021 8:38 pm

David Nahmani wrote:
Here's a new video following the release of Logic Pro 10.7.

Thanx David!
Very informative, but man is it dizzying for a non initiated... :shock:
LogicPro 10.7.1, MainStage 3.5.4
MBPro 17", Core2Duo, 8G, OSX 10.12.6
MacPro, Xeon 6Cores, 64GB, OSX 10.15.7
ULN8, MOTU MIDI TP-AV, C4, MCU Pro, KorgNano, Novation SLMkII
AAS, NI, Celemony, Spectrasonics, Korg, Arturia, etc...
PC, iPadPro 5th gen 12.9”(Duet D., V-Control & LogicRemote), AtariST(Notator SL), Several vintage gear
 
Craig6973
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2021 2:13 am

Re: Apple Spatial Audio — Dolby Atmos Music Production Tutorials

Wed Oct 20, 2021 8:10 pm

Thanks Dave unfortunately I won’t be able to use this for a long time my mac won’t go up to big sir my mac is late 2013 but Thanks for the tutorial
 
Doriswway
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2021 2:22 am

Re: Apple Spatial Audio — Dolby Atmos Music Production Tutorials

Sun Nov 07, 2021 2:27 am

What version of Logic is required to get the dolby atmos world
CUIMS
Last edited by Doriswway on Thu Nov 18, 2021 5:41 am, edited 3 times in total.
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Topic Author
Posts: 87010
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Apple Spatial Audio — Dolby Atmos Music Production Tutorials

Sun Nov 07, 2021 2:52 am

Doriswway wrote:
What version of Logic is required to get the dolby atmos world

You can use the Dolby Atmos plug-in in any older Logic version (see: Apple Spatial Audio — Dolby Atmos Music Production Tutorials). However the new 10.7 version comes with the built-in plug-in and panners which makes it much easier to work with Dolby Atmos.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.7.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
Craig6973
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2021 2:13 am

Re: Apple Spatial Audio — Dolby Atmos Music Production Tutorials

Tue Nov 16, 2021 12:30 pm

David does that panner cost money?