Guitar controlling Logic Pro

sun b

yo board

i'm gonna go looking for threads on this subject tonight but i wanted to post this in the hope of help from someone who's trodden this digital way getting back to me from a position of experience

i'm new to logic and trying to set up a guitar synth with the program.

in the past, using the roland gi20, i have usually addressed my hardware sampler module in mono mode, ie one string per midi channel, this gives gr8 tracking.

here and now the gi20 is hooked up to logic over usb, working fine

with basic connections sorted my 1st move thereafter was to set up environment to let me control a multi instrument by unchecking boxes 1 through 6, thus letting me have channels 1-6 as sub-channels

this is also working ok.

i then set bend range on sculpture preset to 12 (linked) to conform with the 12 range set on my gi20

but still bad bad bad tracking! help! strange floaty tuning afflicts the performance, though actual triggering is fairly accurate, not what i would expect from my sampler though, which is rock solid

i suspect the process of using subchannels. maybe some kind of overload situation. i'd like to set up instruments one to six in the arrange window to respond to strings one to six, but can't seem to get there. has anyone gone this route with good results?

very glad to be here, respect to the makers and shakers in music!

sun b

thats the nature of tracking with guitar midi. its more of a sckether than a real controller IMO.

i have the GI20 or 10... i forget, the silver box.

it has difrent tracking presets so i keep changing dpending on my needs . it has the preset that will track everything at the same velocity which is the one i mainly use so i can track chords and melody. then i go to the matrix editor and change and erase the extra notes.

and thats basically why guitar midi hasnt been a success. to make really work good u need the axiom or other really expensive stuff an di heard its kinda the same.