Logic Pro X Playback Delay with ZL Monitored Audio

nathanimal
Go to solution Solved by nathanimal,

I've seen one other thread that sort of addressed this, where the OP was recording audio and monitoring it live through his audio interface's built-in mixer. The recorded audio was delayed behind the rest of his tracks when being played back, resulting in his having to manually reposition the recorded track to line up with the others.

I have had the same thing happen. It has always been my assumption that when recording audio AND monitoring through the audio interface - regardless of what the total mixer latency was with however many plugins - Logic Pro would put the recorded audio in the right spot on the grid corresponding to when the events actually happened in relation to the playback. i.e., no sync issues - without having to enable low-latency mode. But my recorded part was delayed by almost 140 ms upon playback! This never happened when I was a noob learning the trade on Pro Tools. The OP of the other post said he also had no such problems in DP. 

This has never been an issue for me before because I have always made sure to get the parts nailed in tracking before I start serious mixing with the CPU-intensive plugs. 

I recorded with PDC set to "audio and software instrument tracks," and verified that the recording delay was set to 0. Earlier, an attempt at recording in low latency mode with those settings resulted in playback of existing tracks being out of sync with each other. 

FYI, I was running Ozone 7 on the master bus, as well as a full complement of Slate Virtual Tape across every channel and the master bus, both of which cause significant latency when mixing. My buffer setting was at 128 samples, with a resulting latency of 10.2ms (again, this shouldn't matter with ZL monitoring). This was one of those situations where the mix was almost finished and the client and I decided to patch up a few parts.