Suggestions for recording rehearsals

Go to solution Solved by David Nahmani,

Hi guys,

I'm a complete Logic Pro novice, looking for suggestions/techniques/opinions.

I'm looking to record band rehearsals of approximately 3 hours in length.  Afterward, I'd like to go through, isolate the individual song performances, and create mp3's of the songs for the band members.

I made my first attempt last week.  I created one project, and stopped recording between each song.  When I was done, I went through, found each song, edited them to the best of my abilities, and then bounced them as individual mp3's.

So my question is, how would an experienced sound engineer accomplish the same thing?  Is there a more efficient way to do it?  I found it difficult to keep settings straight between the different songs, and thought that maybe I should have created a new project for each individual  song.  Problem is, that would take up too much rehearsal time.

Is there a way to split up one long (3 hour) project into individual projects?  Would that be the way to go if you could do it without too much effort?

I'm recording 16 tracks through a Mackie 1640i, onto a MacBook, using Logic Pro 9.

Thanks in advance for any advice and or suggestions.

• 4 months later...

Well, it's been 4 months.  I guess I'm either too dumb to be helped, or no one has ever attempted to do what I am trying to do.  

I've searched the internet for help, but have been unable to come across any answers.

In particular, I just recorded a 3 hour, 16 track session.  

I was able to figure out how to use Markers, and as such, have all the songs marked in the project.

Would love to copy all 16 tracks of a single song into a new project, and mix it from there.

Anyone know if that is possible, or am I going about this all wrong?

Just get me pointed in the right direction, and I think I'll start to pick this stuff up from there.

Thanks.