System Overload Nightmare

Asimova

Hi

I have been using LogicX  for two years ( and it always runs great)  but sometimes have a major problem, namely System Overloads just when a projected is really shaping up.  Logic will continue to work after the first Sys warning, but extremely sluggishly, with static level meters, slow responsive sliders/buttons etc; a total nightmare and it's kills any energy  :| I had for what are time consuming and complicated tracks (I'm not a professional).

The latest project to be affected is really not too large for what I imagine many of you are used to...: 16 midi channels running instruments that shipped with Logic, no audio channels at all, and only two Aux effect channels.

The instrument channel-strips have between 3-6 fx/ signal processors each, no more; same for the Aux channels. All the tracks don't even have activity at the same time. But in order to finish, I need to add a few more fx and tracks, not less.

My machine: 4-Core 2009 MacPro,  2.1Ghz,  12 Gb ram,  OsX 10.11- so it well exceeds minimum requirements. I'm lost for what to do, as I cannot finish any project this way.

So my question is: is there any way I can maximise my current setup's performance, or set some preference options in Logic or the project's settings to stop me from jumping off a bridge ? Please help

Anyone able to suggest anything ?

thanks in advance

... but there is "something you can do about it," and that "something" is: Bounce-In-Place (BIP).