Score has missing/blank area of page

daxmusic
Go to solution Solved by Eric Cardenas,

Hello forum, I'm new to this neighborhood and this is my first post. I did some keyword searches here to make sure this issue hasn't already been discussed, but I didn't find anything so I figured I'd go ahead and start a conversation. Sorry if it's a little long-winded, but it's been a bit of a frustrating issue to deal with.

I regularly use the Score feature of Logic at my job. I recently upgraded from Logic Pro 9 to Logic Pro X, and although the interface and appearance took a little getting used to, everything has seemed to work fine.

However, I was editing the Score window (in full-page view) of a particularly lengthy session today when I came across one page that was almost completely blank. I don't just mean that the notes weren't there. The first staff at the top of the page was visible, but then the rest of that page was completely devoid of anything -- no notes, no measure numbers, no staves. The playhead would scroll over the blank area, and all the notes played perfectly fine, but I was unable to view or highlight anything at all in the blank area.

I tried switching viewing styles from "treble" to "piano." I got the same blank area, just a few pages later. I tried selecting a different MIDI track in Score mode, and I got the same blank area in the same place. Naturally, I tried the other de facto quick fixes: I closed and then re-loaded the session. I quit and then re-launched Logic. I rebooted the computer. No change.

I tried some other methods: I created a new session, and imported the original track into that new session...still got the blank area. I exported the region as a MIDI file, and manually dragged it into the new session...same blank area.