Audio/time manipulation

Osamasmamasbinlazy

Hey just a quick question- i am new to logic and i was talking to someone who said that they were recording on a protools setup(this guy is kind of a munch who does not pay attention to detail-like what was the version what was the hardware?) and he described a situation that sounded like quantization of auido? He said he played a fill that was not sitting right with the time but through protools was able to adjust this- again this was an audio file-not midi- can logic do this???

thank u

He was probably refering to Pro Tools' "Beat Detective" function.

There are several ways to do this in Logic. You can do it by hand, editing on the attacks, quantizing the newly chopped audio regions and then using crossfades to glue back the regions together. In that case you will not timestretch any of the audio and retain the original tone.

Or you can use the Apple Loops, which will use a Time expansion/compression algorythm to make the transient stick to the tempo grid of your song.

I have just spent a few weeks editing a whole album worth of drums in Logic, and now everything is tight! So yes, you can definitely do it.

He was probably refering to Pro Tools' "Beat Detective" function.

There are several ways to do this in Logic. You can do it by hand, editing on the attacks, quantizing the newly chopped audio regions and then using crossfades to glue back the regions together. In that case you will not timestretch any of the audio and retain the original tone.

Or you can use the Apple Loops, which will use a Time expansion/compression algorythm to make the transient stick to the tempo grid of your song.

I have just spent a few weeks editing a whole album worth of drums in Logic, and now everything is tight! So yes, you can definitely do it.