Bootable copy . Which one . CCC or Super Duper

I need to back up Mojave and logic 10.5.1 .

what is the most reliable carbon copy cloner or super duper.!I have no experience with either program or how to do this .  Any help appreciated !!!

also what type of hardrive also etc ?

Disk Utility can clone any volume, for free..  It always makes an exact clone and wipes the destination.  It also does not by default automatically copy some of the hidden partitions that are needed to fully copy a boot drive.  Your boot disk has the main volume that you see and then there are hidden volumes containing other stuff.  Its pretty simple on Mojave, but starts to get way more complicated with newer versions of MacOS.  With newer versions of MacOS I think you have to use some complicated command line tools to fully clone a drive, but I can't remember now.

CCC and SuperDuper can do so called incremental updates, where it will only copy over the files that have actually changed.  They both do a lot of smart stuff about not copying over cache files, virtual memory, etc..stuff that doesn't need to be copied.   With Mojave either one will create a bootable backup for you.  I have purchased and used both pieces of software and like them both.

However be advised that starting with Mojave, Apple introduced the APFS file system, and they also at some point in time, I can't remember when now; introduced a system whereby a lot of the files they we should not mess with are stored on a hidden read only partition, etc..and some other new internal hidden partitions related to boot up and recovery, etc..  The end result of that is that neither SuperDuper or CCC could make a truly bootable backup.  There is a command line utility on MacOS you can use to do it, but its very complicated.  Eventually CCC made a way to do it, I think it probably just puts a nice GUI around that cmd line utility.