Adding tracks to Folder Stack changes output

Danny Wyatt

I am not an expert, but this is how i understand the software works.

In the second picture that is not a folder stack, it's another summing stack (a folder stack has no audio/midi pulgins slots, just the vol/pan)

looks to me like the software is behaving as i expect it to in this case.

in general, when you add a track to a summing stack, that track will output to the input bus of that summing stack automatically (i don't know if there is a setting that can change this behaviour).

So you either stack them into sub stacks to keep your assignments (your lead tracks into a Leads summing stack, your string tracks into a Strings summing stac, etc... and all those summing stacks into your Synth summing stack), or you will have to manually re-route the buses as you did in the first picture, but then avoid moving anything into other stacks or you will end up losing your bus assignments.

41 minutes ago, ravez said:

In the second picture that is not a folder stack, it's another summing stack

It's actually the other way around... first image is just a summing stack with all tracks and auxs inside. Second image is all of that, now inside a folder stack. So basically, what you are saying, wouldn't make sense happening, because it's impossible for Logic to try to change all outputs to the folder stack, because there's no inputs. So why is it changing the outputs of the auxs inside the summing stack, when they were already set inside of it?

Makes no sense, right?

43 minutes ago, ravez said:

So you either stack them into sub stacks to keep your assignments (your lead tracks into a Leads summing stack, your string tracks into a Strings summing stac, etc... and all those summing stacks into your Synth summing stack

There's no way of adding a summing stack inside another summing stack. That's why I used a folder stack. That's the only way to group tracks and summing stacks.

At least, that's what I'm experiencing...