Is there a way to easily identify AUX and Bus that are not being used in the project?

Zeh

Hi All,

As a one-man-everything (who work from the composition to mix) I'm not an expert and the fact is that my projects are kind of messy. Some of them I began using a template or previous projects that carries some AUX/BUS. Now I have a lot of channels, track stacks, bus and aux... and I'd really love to clean those that are not being used. But I don't know which are they and I'm afraid to delete a used by mistake.

Does anyone know if there is a way easier/faster than look one by one?

Besides that, does anyone has suggestion of a good video or tutorial talking about recommended workflow in logic? something that helps me to create a method to all new projects.

Thanks all 🙂

I'd create a system based on your needs and use cases - eg, busses 1-31 are used for FX, busses 32 - 63 are used for general purpose routing (parallel paths etc), busses 64 onwards are used for subgroups etc. You can always name the start of each group as a reminder in the list.

Generally, being more careful, disciplined and structured in your projects and mixer layout is beneficial in the long run, as it makes managing the complexity easier.

Edited by des99
  • Like 1

I had some old starters and ideas that I wanted to pick up and make a full production with.

Some of these old ideas where created with DMD kits. The factory DMD kits sound good for ideas.

But when importing them to in a fresh project using my general logic template, it will be a  little messy regarding busses. The way I clean it up:

1. Drag the separate drums from the DMD instrument to new stand-alone tracks and renaming them.
2. Delete the DMD busses. This is done by opening the mixer and select "All Tracks", identify alien busses and delete them.
3. Delete the now empty DMD instrument.

This goes for other stuff imported from other projects as well.