Writing and arranging brass parts

When creating brass parts in Logic's Studio Horns do you get each single instrument to play the same notes. For example: if you have a song in Am and you want say three trumpets, would you get the first trumpet to play an A, the second to play a C and a third to play an E? Of course you'd change the notes depending on the chords to the song, but is this how most people do it?

The reason I ask is because I'm a guitarist first and foremost, I'm certainly no keyboard player so my songs all basically have the same instrumentation: acoustic and electric guitars, bass, drums and vocals, and that's pretty much it. But I'd like to embellish the basic premise of my songs with trumpets, trombones and so on, but I'm pretty much at a loss as to where to start.

I know most of you seasoned Logic users can make your brass instruments sound so professional you'd think it was genuine session players, but has anybody any tips and tricks for us old codgers who wouldn't know a saxophone from a combine harvester?

It starts with the arrangement. I really recommend listening to brass parts for whatever genre you're interested in, deconstructing them, and looking at what's going on - you'll learn a lot.

For more contemporary pop brass sections, you'll find a range of things - times when the three instruments are playing in unison, other times where they will be playing interconnecting lines, or playing off each other, other times when they'll be playing intervals in harmony. You have a lot of arrangement tools, so they shouldn't always be doing one thing, generally speaking, otherwise it's a bit boring.

Generally, what you won't find a huge amount of is three brass instruments playing a simple root triad between them - they will often be playing further apart, with inversions and more interesting lines for colour.