Logic vs a "real studio"

Ket

Right, i'm confused, (a bit hmmm?) and just plain... Don't Know?..

Now logic is meant to be a PRO application.. great, i got it, I'm recording stuff, and it's all good...but i'm not a professional recording engineer so i have understand my limitations...

ok.. Photoshop, indesign and Illustator PRO software too.. i use it ALL day everyday...for a huge range of clients....same sort of budget, same sorts of "level or professional software" right?...

SO IS LOGIC PRO actually A PROFESSIONAL recording software (i'm talking about with it's built in effects and processors - compressors and eq and the like)

now lest take Daft punk for example.. a DIGITAL electronic dance duo... great music, yes lots of samples...

just started reading stuff about "how they made the music, and what they used" they have SO MUCH outboard gear?... and this compressor that "gate" that "desk" so on and so forth? (I have NO idea how to use such things, let alone any dreams of budgeting for such things... not in my immediate interests....)

So basically...they make "electronic dance music" (ok bad pigeon holing...but just go with it for the sake of debate)

So my question:

COULD I (the average home user, not a pro engineer) REALLY MAKE an album with LOGIC PRO (7 or 8) with it's inbuilt processors and software tools (compressors and eq) of similar quality????

Or am are people who have this impression just being really naive and buying into something it's not?...

Thanks for your input and ideas....

ket :)

The simple response: yes. Not only can home/project studios create truly professional work with Logic, but it has already been done by a bunch of major artists: Logic entirely in the box.