MIDI Volume Trouble when Importing from Dorico

Pwagne15

I am a beginner with Logic Pro X and am experiencing a particularly frustrating problem. I have searched all over the Internet for a solution and have found nothing that works. I exported the Dorico score for a string quartet as four MIDI files and imported them into Logic. I am using Audiobro Modern Scoring Strings. When I play the MIDI back, the volume for the strings changes seemingly at random. I do not know what is causing this. I have attached a video to demonstrate my issue.

Hi @Pwagne15,

Maybe it's because it's not my music, but I did not notice any "random" volume changes in that video.

In any case, unwanted behavior like the one you describe is most likely due to Control Change data in your MIDI regions, most probably CC7 (Volume) and CC11 (Expression). 

One way to deal with this is to just remove all Controller data you have in your regions from the Event List editor in Logic (select a region and press D on your computer keyboard). Once you see the events in a particular region being displayed in the Event List editor, you can use the buttons on top of the Event List editor to only show Controller events so that you can then select them all and delete them. As you can see here, I've disabled the Notes button as to not show any note events:

Screenshot2024-03-17at09_16_25.thumb.png.471b7e88aa6d01b896b79c9e19a1f5e4.png

If for whatever reason you don't want to delete the events, you can also "mute" them or disable them. This you can do using the corresponding On/Off button shown in the track header when shown Region automation (press A to show automation, then switch to region automation). You can then cycle though all available controller data with the Automation: Cycle Through Used Parameters command Cmd + Y and click the On/Off button to disable each:

Screenshot2024-03-17at09_24_16.png.f1f2631fc049957cf33cc22a4a372442.png

J.

• Like 1

8 hours ago, Jordi Torres said:

Hi @Pwagne15,