How do you hear the track you are recording on?

Wahlbeck
Go to solution Solved by polanoid,

Hi there!

I'm a new Logic Pro user and am going insane trying to figure out a problem. I'm recording a vocal, and then I marquee select the area I want to re-record. The moment I hit record, that track stops playing back so I can't hear myself just prior to the part where I'm recording. Coming from Pro Tools, I just would normally click a spot or marquee select, then it would playback my voice up until the point of recording.

But Logic Pro is muting any track the moment I press record on that same track. I feel like I've clicked every button that exists in Logic Pro and still can't find out how to fix this 😅

I'm sure this is a super simple thing. Any ideas?

• Solution

This is totally not super simple in Logic. In fact that workflow doesn't exist at all. So one thing you could do is click on your marquee selection (to split the existing region at the marquee borders), then mute the new region inside the marquee and record on another track.

Another possibility: monitoring during pre-roll seems to work when you start recording anywhere before the auto-punch area, so if you place the playhead a bit - say, a quarter note - before the marquee and make sure "Play From Marquee Selection" isn't checked (long click the play button for that) it should work as well.

• Like 1

2 hours ago, polanoid said:

This is totally not super simple in Logic. In fact that workflow doesn't exist at all. So one thing you could do is click on your marquee selection (to split the existing region at the marquee borders), then mute the new region inside the marquee and record on another track.