Mastering with L8

trancefuzion

Hi guys,

I am not an expert in masterization but I have problems since I switched from L7 to L8 with the masterization of my dj set. To resume, I record a dj set of 1h with Soundtrack Pro, normalize it to -0.3 DB. At this step, if I compare to other dj sets made by others well-known djs, I can say that the sound is comparable, good bass, sound is clear...

Now, I import it to Logic 8, add a speech, 2-3 little voice effects, and bounce the final in mp3 320kbps.

The bounced file is awful. The sound now misses bass, the volume is lower than before and the sound quality is not really good.

Note : I always start Logic 8 with blank project. The master and the DJ set Track have no effect & process on it.

I guess that bouncing each track and reimporting them at the right place without effect will help to get a better sound, but...

Do you have tips for me to help me with the masterization? Is there any concept that I should learn to get a proper sound in Logic?

Thanks a lot!

Edited by trancefuzion

Hi guys,

I am not an expert in masterization but I have problems since I switched from L7 to L8 with the masterization of my dj set. To resume, I record a dj set of 1h with Soundtrack Pro, normalize it to -0.3 DB. At this step, if I compare to other dj sets made by others well-known djs, I can say that the sound is comparable, good bass, sound is clear...

Now, I import it to Logic 8, add a speech, 2-3 little voice effects, and bounce the final in mp3 320kbps.

The bounced file is awful. The sound now misses bass, the volume is lower than before and the sound quality is not really good.

Note : I always start Logic 8 with blank project. The master and the DJ set Track have no effect & process on it.

I guess that bouncing each track and reimporting them at the right place without effect will help to get a better sound, but...