is * 8 * better?

gschmitt

i want you guys to weigh in. i'm a LOGIC noob and i'm getting the feeling that alot of the people in this forum who have some experience with LOGIC and its earlier versions have a fonder opinion of those earlier versions over v.8. now, i know this ALWAYS happens when new versions of old software come out, but i DEFINITELY want to hear the arguments.

thanks!

my .02...if you're a total Logic noob..I'd recommend 8. Learn the 'new' workflow. By the time your ready for the 'deeper' aspects of Logic, there should be some updates ready to roll.

I've already walked a few noobs thru it (mostly PC Cubase converts). It's nice to see them up and running a lot faster now. Keep an eye on this forum for the 'gotcha's", but, otherwise....go for it. No turning back :)

It is.

Much has been said about the differences 7/8, and partially it's a matter of taste which one you like better.

Some points to me: Creating new tracks with software instruments is much easier now. Creating additional outputs for multichannel instruments as well. The IIR reverbs like Silververb sound better now. Comping is fun (as far as it's not buggy... That will be fixed.).

Yes, 8 is better.

Yeah, DKGross has it right on with regard to the workflow changes being aimed at people new to the program. One of the knocks on Logic has always been that there's a steep learning curve. Logic 8 has gone a very long way towards fixing that.

There is plenty of disagreement out there on your question, I'm sure. But keep in mind that much of it deals with people who are used to old workflows and feel like the changes introduced in Logic 8 screw with that. However, some have changed their tune (and I imagine most will) once they get used to the new ways of doing things.

As for actual performance, most of the bugs reported on the various forums have had to do with NEW functunality, with things that have been added to the program, and so weren't there to go wrong with Logic 7.